Summer in L.A.

The past three weeks I’ve been playing with the 2011 Disneyland All American College Band. The group is 21 college age musicians from all over the country. The first two weeks were pretty much a blur of constant rehearsals for the memorized street sets. We’re playing medleys from disney movies, Stevie Wonder, Earth Wind and Fire, and Tower of Power. These sets also have quite a bit of choreography along with them. Here’s a video of the band playing the Tower of Power Medley.

The band is sponsored by Yamaha and we’re all playing new horns. The sax section was able to try out a bunch of different horn and neck combinations (I still like my horn better). Although I didn’t find a horn and neck combination that I loved, it was a great experience to hear how much the neck bore and material effect the sound of an instrument.
In addition to playing the memorized street sets, we also play flag retreat set and a big band set. We do these 5 sets every day, 5 days a week. Even though it’s been busy, it is a lot of fun-I’m playing a lot of new music and I’m working at Disneyland…I can’t complain.

The band is a lot of fun to play with, it’s definitely the most powerful brass section I’ve ever played with. Here is a video of our first set as a big band a few weeks go.

The week before I came out to L.A., my sextet played at Miles’ Cafe in New York. Here is a video of us doing my version of Little by Little (a track off of the new radiohead album). enjoy the clapping at 4:03.

Jon Lampley-Trumpet
Chris Ott-Trombone
Angelo Di Loretto- Piano
Danny Ziemann-Bass
John Hubbell-Drums

I finish up the gig in Disneyland on August 13th. The following week, we will be playing in Ohio, and New York as I release my new CD Between the Lines. Stay posted for exact dates and times!

About danwhitemusic

Dan White is and artist whose music has two distinct, yet interwoven concepts: This logic is clearly displayed in Between The Lines (March 2011). White has a deep respect for acoustic Jazz, but he is also is driven to explore uncharted territory: Playing music that cannot be defined or pigeonholed. Both sides of his music create a synergy effect: the tradition of America's classical music helps build the foundation from which he explores and experiments, while the experimentation gives way to more individuality. Music has played a large part in Dan's life since he was young. The saxophonist comes from a musical family: his grandfather a jazz bassist and music teacher, his uncle a music teacher, and four of his cousins are currently studying music. He grew up just north of Buffalo, New York, where he started playing piano at age eight, and saxophone at age nine. A few years later he got his first real taste of improvisation and composition. After hearing Joshua Redman in concert with his father, White was instantly hooked on the link between composition and improvisation. White states, "My music is an extension of my personality. I am influenced by many, and my goal is to merge these influences into refreshing and creative music that acknowledges the tradition that came before and progresses the art form."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

