New York Sessions pt. 3

Hey everyone!  Thank you again for all the support, please keep spreading the word about the videos and our music!  Before I talk about these next two videos, I want to fill you in on a few things that are going on with this band.  This Sunday 4/15 night at 6pm ET we will be streaming Jon Lampley’s Recital live.  You can watch it here.  The personnel is: Dan White-Saxophone/Clarinet, Jon Lampley- Trumpet/Sousaphone/Vocals, Chris Ott- Trombone, Theron Brown- Keyborads, Josh Hill- Guitar, Adam DeAscentis-Bass, and John Suntken- Drums.  TUNE IN!  It’s gonna be a lot of fun.

Last week I did an interview with CW Columbus about our band and our last few projects.  Jon and I performed Stevie Wonder/ Michael Jackson’s tune ‘I Can’t Help It’ live in the studio. Check it out!  This spring Jon and I will be recording a sousaphone/ sax duo project ‘Fight The Team’.  In other news, DW6 is preparing our summer show schedule, we will be branching out of Ohio so stay tuned–we should have several new dates nailed down by the end of the month.

The first video this week is an arrangement I did of a Nick Drake song called ‘Place To Be’.  It is originally off of the 1971 recording Pink Moon.  I got into Nick By mistake, a good friend left this CD in my car and I never got into it initially.  About four years later I played it during a long drive (i stumbled upon it under a seat after playing every unscratched CD in my car).  It totally hit me in a different way and I listened to the CD at least ten times in a row (it’s only 28 minutes long).  After that car ride, I started to get into more of his music and started getting into Brad Mehldau’s arrangements of his songs.  I originally arranged this a year ago for my senior recital.  For that I played it on soprano sax.  I decided to include it in this recording session since it’s such a simple tune and I wanted to hear it with a real rhodes.  It ended up going really well.  This was only our second take.  It was a nice contrast to the other complex arrangements and originals from the session.  After we finished recording it the guys in the studio were saying it would sound really nice with strings underneath it.  After we got back to Columbus I wrote parts for string quartet and recorded it and filmed it at OSU.  The arrangement follows the lyrics closely, I changed the time signature and added my own chord changes.  Also I edited this video, I want the listener to be able to see each musician playing (you’ll see what I mean).

The next video is an original of mine called ‘Hip Mr Henderson’.  First I must credit Chris Ott for inspiring the concept of this tune.  About two years ago he wrote a tune called Hip Mr. Hampton based on a Slide Hampton line (that he played during a solo).  I wrote my own version based on a Joe Henderson line that he played during an outro vamp from ‘Rain Check’ off of the 1992 recording Lush Life: The Music Of Billy Strayhorn.  It was the starting point for the tune, but then the line kind of took a backseat as the rest of the composition developed.  I ended up using the harmonic movement from the bridge of Inner Urge more prominently in the piece.  My favorite thing about both of these recordings is the interplay and groove during solo sections within the rhythm section.  Both of these recordings capture the bands ability to listen and groove on wide open improvised sections.  ENJOY!

About danwhitemusic

Dan White is and artist whose music has two distinct, yet interwoven concepts: This logic is clearly displayed in Between The Lines (March 2011). White has a deep respect for acoustic Jazz, but he is also is driven to explore uncharted territory: Playing music that cannot be defined or pigeonholed. Both sides of his music create a synergy effect: the tradition of America's classical music helps build the foundation from which he explores and experiments, while the experimentation gives way to more individuality. Music has played a large part in Dan's life since he was young. The saxophonist comes from a musical family: his grandfather a jazz bassist and music teacher, his uncle a music teacher, and four of his cousins are currently studying music. He grew up just north of Buffalo, New York, where he started playing piano at age eight, and saxophone at age nine. A few years later he got his first real taste of improvisation and composition. After hearing Joshua Redman in concert with his father, White was instantly hooked on the link between composition and improvisation. White states, "My music is an extension of my personality. I am influenced by many, and my goal is to merge these influences into refreshing and creative music that acknowledges the tradition that came before and progresses the art form."
This entry was posted in Composing, Music, NYC Sessions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

