Winter Update

Hey Everyone, the last blog I wrote was right after we released Fight The Team and New York Sessions.  It has been a busy and exciting few months.  I have been busy teaching, writing, and playing lots of music.  The transition from the college daily schedule to a teaching schedule has been challenging (I am really not a morning person).

me jon and evan Strathmore oar I want to fill you all in on everything that has been happening.  In December, O.A.R. premiered 6 arrangements that I helped orchestrate.  It was part of their Heard The World Benefit Concert at Strathmore Hall in Maryland.  This was the first time that I have written for a professional Orchestra.  It was an incredible experience to hear it played live for a sold out crowd.  There were many long nights working on that with Jon Lampley and Evan Oberla.

Here is a clip of it:

Since I’m sharing recent videos, here is a clip of Jon and I playing some Christmas tunes.

We’ve had some very exciting shows in Columbus over the past few months.  Here is a clip of us playing Seven Nation Army:

More recently, we’ve been planning and composing for our next project called ‘play’.  We are going into the studio in March and we are starting a Kick Starter campaign this week.  I am really really really excited about this one.   We have a very focused concept and we are all working together to make this album a work of art.  This makes me super happy, my last CD’s were extremely fulfilling, but I am happy to be able to work with everyone from stage one rather than me doing all the composing alone.  Keep your eyes out and help spread the word about this new project!!

Recent Recommendations: No Beginning No End- Jose James, In A Silent Way-Miles Davis, The Mosaic Project- Terri Lyne Carrington, Thelonious Monk and Johnny Griffin- Live At The Five Spot

This album sounds like a branch off of Voodoo, especially this track.  Jose has a great voice and he leaves plently of space for the musicians to do their thing.  PINO on Bass!!

I can’t believe that I haven’t gotten into this until now, but I’m glad I did.  Tony’s Fill at about 13:10 is superb.  Everyone is waiting for the right moment.  I love the energy and groove.

I just came across this album.  The songs and grooves are really happening.  Very nice song writing and slick, modern arranging.

I’ve been really getting into Johnny Griffin lately.  He goes in on this album.  And they play some of my favorite Monk tunes.

About danwhitemusic

Dan White is and artist whose music has two distinct, yet interwoven concepts: This logic is clearly displayed in Between The Lines (March 2011). White has a deep respect for acoustic Jazz, but he is also is driven to explore uncharted territory: Playing music that cannot be defined or pigeonholed. Both sides of his music create a synergy effect: the tradition of America's classical music helps build the foundation from which he explores and experiments, while the experimentation gives way to more individuality. Music has played a large part in Dan's life since he was young. The saxophonist comes from a musical family: his grandfather a jazz bassist and music teacher, his uncle a music teacher, and four of his cousins are currently studying music. He grew up just north of Buffalo, New York, where he started playing piano at age eight, and saxophone at age nine. A few years later he got his first real taste of improvisation and composition. After hearing Joshua Redman in concert with his father, White was instantly hooked on the link between composition and improvisation. White states, "My music is an extension of my personality. I am influenced by many, and my goal is to merge these influences into refreshing and creative music that acknowledges the tradition that came before and progresses the art form."
This entry was posted in Composing, Music, NYC Sessions, play and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

